Zhuchengtyrannus art II

So in the last couple of days we have had Bob Nicholls talk about his beautiful vignette of Zhuchengtyrannus and an interview with artist Brian Choo. Now we can sort of combine the two. As Brian is based at the IVPP he soon found out about the upcoming description of the new tyrannosaur and excited by the new taxa being discovered he went away and produced this:

Zhuchengtyrannus and Sinoceratops. Courtesy of Brian Choo.

Yes this is a full-bodied rendering of Zhuchengtyrannus. And here it’s marauding into a herd of the recently described Sinoceratops that come from the same quarry so we know lived together. In light of my work on theropod predatory habits, Brian told me he deliberately did the tyrannosaur going after the juvenile in the herd and not taking the biggest adult he could find. This is probably my first direct influence on a piece of palaeoart and of course I’m cuffed about that as much as the fact that this is a nice picture based on my big friend. My thanks to Brian for letting me show it off here and of course, for doing it in the first place.

6 Responses to “Zhuchengtyrannus art II”


  1. 1 Traumador the Tyrannosaur 17/04/2011 at 9:26 pm

    Very nice.

    So yes this is probably a dumb question (I don’t really have access to academic papers), but how much do we know about the osteology of Sinoceratops?

    Not dissing Dr. Choo’s recreation here, makes sense they’d be along known Ceratopsian lines. I’ve just been trying to tabulate which ceratopsians we have a good knowledge of lifecycle for and which we don’t.

    • 2 David Hone 17/04/2011 at 9:39 pm

      I don’t actually have the Sinoceratops paper myself actually, so I’m not really in a position to comment at the moment.

  2. 3 Wally Wedel 17/04/2011 at 11:15 pm

    I like his birds too! They look like present day Corvids. Do we know how far back Corvid like birds appear?

  3. 4 Albertonykus 18/04/2011 at 6:25 am

    Wonderful. I like how it singles out the juvenile too.

  4. 5 Zhen 19/04/2011 at 10:09 pm

    Very nice. I’m surprised there aren’t more drawing of it by now.


  1. 1 Sinoceratops « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 07/07/2011 at 12:12 am
Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other subscribers