The Tyrannosaur Chronicles

Chronicles cover

So I’ve been keep this quiet for a while, but for the last year or so I’ve been writing what will become my first (and hopefully not only) book. It’s a popular science book with Bloomsbury Press and their new Sigma range of titles, all of which are science / natural history and it’s due out in early 2016. Obviously it’s a dinosaur effort and this is focused squarely on the tyrannosaurs. It tries to cover everything from their origin to extinction and that means evolution, taxonomy, anatomy, physiology and mechanics, and in particular my areas of special interest in ecology and behaviour. It’s not quite wall-to-wall dinosaurs since there’s the context of their environments, competing carnivores and potential prey and that means some other things do at least get a look it.

As will be obvious from the cover, Scott Hartman has been involved and in addition to the skeletals adorning it, there’s a bunch of his renditions inside too. (Those who read his blog might have spotted the recent plethora of tyrannosaurs and this book is part of the reason for his push on them). So that means at least some bits of the book will be accurate and in a desperate attempt to make sure the text isn’t too littered with errors, Tom Holtz has been good enough to plow through the entire thing for me (so I’ll blame any remaining mistakes on him going too fast). More seriously, I really can’t thank them both enough.

Right, that’s enough shameless self-promotion for now, so I’ll return to editing the thing and watching the Mexican standoff between my geckos. Thanks for reading the blog, and hope you might read the book.

 

Edit: it’s available for preorder at Bloomsbury here, assuming anyone is desperate / foolish enough to order it sight unseen. 🙂

20 Responses to “The Tyrannosaur Chronicles”


  1. 2 joerojasburke 13/07/2015 at 11:44 pm

    Good luck with the book, Dave. Looking forward to reading it.

  2. 3 jrabdale 14/07/2015 at 12:13 am

    Congratulations on getting your first book published!

  3. 4 ijreid 14/07/2015 at 2:36 am

    Wicked! Any guessed on pub date yet?

  4. 6 Blaine 14/07/2015 at 5:41 am

    Can’t wait. Congrats!!

  5. 7 Tim Donovan 14/07/2015 at 11:11 am

    How big a book, how many pages?

    • 8 David Hone 14/07/2015 at 2:22 pm

      I have no idea how many pages it will be – rather depends on page size and font! I’ve written about 85 000 words, it’s very much a text-heavy book with a few illustrations (and a photo spread) and not an illustrated work.

  6. 9 Keith Campbell 15/07/2015 at 8:11 am

    I am glad to hear of your new book and eagerly await the chance to obtain a copy.

  7. 10 Tim Donovan 15/07/2015 at 1:05 pm

    There’s a report of tyrannosaur teeth from Japan, suggesting a 10m taxon about 81 Ma–about the same size and age as Lythronax. Dunno if this is too late for inclusion.

    • 11 David Hone 15/07/2015 at 3:06 pm

      I’m still working on edits for the book. At some point it will have to be signed off and I can’t change things anymore (and there’s a note in the front to say that the book by definition will be out of date in at least some respects by the time it is printed, in addition to any errors or oversights) but this is something that should go in somewhere. I’ve not actually seen a paper yet though, only a press release…

  8. 12 Lisa 20/07/2015 at 11:12 pm

    Very happy for you-congrats! Will it be released here in “the colonies”, or will I need to order on line? Looks to be a great read, a real page-turner 🙂

    • 13 David Hone 21/07/2015 at 9:47 am

      Well I do know there will be a US release at least, so I’m rather assuming it’ll be available in places like Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

      Thanks for the kind words.

  9. 14 Robin 21/07/2015 at 4:35 pm

    Congratulations for your first book! Having followed this blog for quite a while now, I really look forward to reading it!
    Unfortunately, by the time it’ll be released, I won’t live in the US anymore and will be either back in France or in Germany. Any chance that it can be shipped to those countries?

    • 15 David Hone 21/07/2015 at 5:47 pm

      Hi, really have no idea I’m afraid. Obviously I don’t make those decisions and didn’t think too much about it at the time and with the book still 9 months away I’ve got other things to be getting on with. It’s already available for preorder on Amazon.co.uk and through BLoomsbury so I’m sure getting it in Europe one way or another won’t be too hard.

  10. 17 Herman Diaz 23/07/2015 at 4:39 am

    1stly, sorry both for not having commented in while & for taking so long to comment on this blog post. I’ve been meaning to, but kept getting busy & forgetting.

    2ndly, congrats on finally writing a popular dino book (which, as you may remember, is what I’ve been hoping for since I started following this blog). If you don’t mind, I have some questions about said book:
    -Will there be a kindle edition?
    -Is it safe to assume that, like this blog, it’ll be more for “the Enthusiast” ( http://whenpigsfly-returns.blogspot.com/2008/04/paleo-reading-list.html )?
    -Will it cover tyrannosaurid scales in general & T.rex (I.e. Wyrex) scales in particular? This 1 is especially important. Many thanks in advance.

    1 more thing: IDK if you noticed, but Amazon’s description has some factual errors ( http://www.amazon.com/Tyrannosaur-Chronicles-Biology-Tyrant-Dinosaurs/dp/1472911253 ). I just wanted to make sure they didn’t misrepresent your work.

    • 18 David Hone 24/07/2015 at 10:03 pm

      The book is very much aimed at a general audience. I hope it will still be of interest for keen dinosaur watchers but that’s not the target.

      I have no idea what the ebook situation is, but I suspect one is coming.

      No it won’t look at scales in much detail. It doesn’t look at anything in much detail, I’ve got 80 000 words to cover a century of history, 100 m years of evolution, ecology, behaviour, taxonomy, anatomy, and explain the underlying principles of things like systematics and biomechanics and for a non-science audience. Given that I once wrote a paper that came in close to 10 000 words based on one tooth, you can see how this might be tricky to get into fine details.

      Yes, I know the Amazon blurb is inaccurate – I didn’t write it or get to edit it.


  1. 1 I’m Writing a Book | An Odyssey of Time Trackback on 20/07/2015 at 4:36 am
Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other subscribers