An outstanding Stegosaurus

The single biggest please for me finally getting into the Carnegie Museum is the fact that it’s also the first time I’ve been to a museum in the US period. As such, although there are various casts and even specimens floating around the world that I have seen on occasion, this is the first time I’ve actually seen real material or high-quality casts of a great many taxa that are rather fundamental to how we generally perceive dinosaurs. Stegosaurus is a real classic in this sense and just a great animal to see. While I barely work on ornithischians, this was something rather special for me.

6 Responses to “An outstanding Stegosaurus”


  1. 1 jerrold12 13/11/2011 at 4:43 pm

    If you’re still in Pittsburgh, don’t miss the marvelous Phipps Conservatory, just steps from the Carngie, http://phipps.conservatory.org/, or the Carnegie Museum of Art that is in the same building as the Natural History museum, http://web.cmoa.org/. For beer, you can’t do better than Fathead’s, http://fatheadspittsburgh.com/, a very short cab ride away from the Carnegie. Right now, they have 39 on draft!

    I agree about the dinos there. I’m an Ed. Vol. at AMNH and feel we are second to none in fossils but when I visited the Carnegie it was like going from black and white to technicolor – the foliage and the murals are fantastic.

  2. 2 Tim Donovan 14/11/2011 at 11:24 am

    Very nice specimen indeed.

  3. 3 kattato Garu 14/11/2011 at 10:56 pm

    I had never noticed how robust the shoulders and front legs are. Is this just weight-bearing heft or was there another function? Wrestling maybe?

  4. 4 Tim Donovan 15/11/2011 at 12:57 pm

    Lol, didn’t you ever read Bakker’s THE DINOSAUR HERESIES? Robust forelimbs most likely evolved to enable the creature to turn around quickly.

  5. 5 kattato Garu 15/11/2011 at 8:54 pm

    It’s been a while… 20 years or more. I vaguely remember the illustration he did of a stegosaur on its hind legs – possibly pushing over a cycad or something. But I’ve not seen a skeleton for myself. I don’t think we have any mounted stegosaurs in the UK… do we?

  6. 6 Tim Donovan 16/11/2011 at 11:31 am

    Bakker portrayed stegosaurs as high feeders, which assumed a tripodal stance to reach high vegetation. Miragaia might support this view, but it’s far from certain.


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other subscribers