Eustreptospondylus

Despite taking these photos quite some time ago, I’d never got round to covering this little British theropod but now I have a nice reason to do so which will follow tomorrow.

I freely admit I’m none too familiar with some of the more basal tetanurans since while they are pretty common in UK museums (Megalosaurus, Beklespinax and others) I’ve never spent much time looking at them or reading up on them. Thus while it was nice to see this fairly complete holotype (most of a skull, pelvis and hindlimbs and some other bits) I didn’t look at it in detail. If noting else I was simply trying to enjoy the museum – it can be hard to switch off sometimes. Hindsight is of course 20:20 and I now wish I had paid more attention and got some better photos now my interest has been heightened. And what heightened it? All will be revealed tomorrow.

(Spoiler: it’s not interesting).

4 Responses to “Eustreptospondylus”


  1. 1 kattato Garu 25/03/2011 at 10:45 am

    Is this the Oxford University Museum?


  1. 1 Eustreptospondylus returns « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 26/03/2011 at 9:18 am
  2. 2 Very late Eustreptospondylus update « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 12/04/2012 at 9:16 am
Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other subscribers