Tenth Anniversary Post

This blogpost is in fact a bit late since this date passed on the 7th of September, but I have now been blogging for a full decade. The archives here do not quite reach back that far, but very long time readers will know that I first started on the now defunct DinoBase pages (though these are available on some internet archive sites) hence the apparent gap.

I don’t want this post to turn into a long ramble about all of my posts and things I have got done, how I got blogging and so on, (this is after all covered in various places), but this seemed too big a milestone to ignore. I’m really not sure when I started all of this, how long I thought I might keep going for, but I doubt it would have included a guess of anything like ten years.

Back then I was still on my first postdoc with no guarantee of employment in another year or so, let alone an academic career and I was already running Ask A Biologist which was a massive outreach project in its own right. If I’d thought about it, I think I would have considered five years to be a big but achievable target and while I’m hardly going at the rate I once was, to still be going is something I’m rather proud of.

That really is it, just a post to mark the passing of the event. The blog will continue, slowly, as things progress and topics come up that I still want to talk about or are relevant. I doubt that I will still be going in 2027, but that in some ways doesn’t seem too far away or too unlikely. Time will clearly tell but I’m not stopping any time soon.

2 Responses to “Tenth Anniversary Post”


  1. 1 Kilian Hekhuis 21/09/2017 at 3:09 pm

    Congrats Dave! Still enjoying every post, even when they’re not coming along as fast as in the past :). I hope to be able to congratulate you on the 15th anniversary as wel :).

  2. 2 Tom's Nature-up-close Photography and Mindfulness Blog 21/09/2017 at 8:54 pm

    Congrats! You were practically blogging back in the Cretaceous days of blogging evolution! 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 482 other followers


