Some outreach

A couple of months ago I was lucky enough to be invited to give a second talk at the Royal Institution in London. It was, perhaps inevitably, on tyrannosaurs but if you want to hear an hour of me talking about them then the video is now up on YouTube here. As a bonus, they also filmed the Q&A afterwards so there’s an extra 20 mins of me droning on here.

If that’s still not enough of me for you (and it’s hard to imagine that it’s not actually too much for most people), I’m also doing some talks on the 29th of September as part of thy exhibition of Chinese dinosaurs in Nottingham. Keep your eyes peeled for details later. I’m also currently heavily involved in a secret dinosaur project which should be on your screens this Christmas (in the UK at least).

4 Responses to “Some outreach”


  1. 1 Steve Cohen 06/07/2017 at 3:02 pm

    Fabulous lecture, Dave.

    Loved the use of lots of specimens and photographs to illustrate your points.

    While I’ve read your book and follow t.rex research closely I still learned a lot that I can share with AMNH visitors in my job as a “Fossil Expaliner,”

    Congrats!

  2. 2 David Molloy 07/07/2017 at 1:59 am

    Brilliant science communication. Put the link up on my Fezbok and the mums have started sharing it (school holiday time in Australia at the moment). Fav fact from the lecture was about the eyeballs. Is that for land animals only or everything?

    • 3 David Hone 08/07/2017 at 1:31 pm

      It is certainly the case for land animals, though giant squid have much, much larger eyes (as did many ichthyosaurs) so at the marine stuff is well ahead.

  3. 4 albertonykus 08/07/2017 at 9:56 pm

    I don’t believe I’ve listened to one of your lectures before. That was excellent!


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 477 other followers


