Developing Deinosuchus for display

Yesterday I blogged about the newly mounted Deinosuchus displays in Mexico by my friend Héctor Rivera-Sylva. Today rather than the mounts themselves I’m putting up some of Héctor’s photos of the creation of these mounts. The bones are a combination of casts from multiple different individuals (as can be seen by the two different colours of material used in putting the skull together for example). While I provide no detailed commentary (as well, I wasn’t there) all the more obvious issues when making something like that are illustrated – sculpting, test mounting, painting and the like and I think it’s fairly clear to see the major processes at work. My thanks again to Héctor for letting me use these.


@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers


