Kiwi skeleton

I was lucky enough to have access to quite a good osteological teaching collection in Dublin. Sadly though, the accessibility of it meant I never got around to taking good photos of much the better material and only have a few shots grabbed at the last minute. One of them was this of Apteryx, a kiwi.

While I’m not a big one for covering extant taxa (well, as specimens, obviously the live ones often put in appearances) the kiwi is on my mind having been completing a bit of work on alvarezsaurs recently. Clearly the two are not that close, but the tiny remnant arms of the kiwi made me think of them and that’s enough of a reason for it to pop into my head and thus onto the Musings. So here it is.

1 Response to “Kiwi skeleton”


  1. 1 Robert Sloan 22/01/2012 at 6:36 pm

    That’s interesting – and a good reminder of just how close some of the non-avian dinosaurs are to our living avian dinosaurs. Beautiful mount. Thanks for sharing it!


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers


