Lufengosaurus

After that hadrosaur the other day, I thought I’d stick up an unambiguous skull. This is of Lufengosaurus, a pretty small basal sauropodomoph (or ‘prosauropod’ if you prefer) from southern China. Actually I have a sneaking suspicion it’s the holotype but I don’t actually know for sure. It is part of an essentially complete and mounted skeleton that’s on display at the IVPP though the individual bones have taken quite a battering.

Prosauropods don’t seem to get much love in general. I suppose they don’t have the supersize of their cousins, aren’t predators like theropods or sport such weird and wonderful ornaments like most of the ornithischians. So it’s nice to give them a bit of coverage here and I have a raft of Plateosaurus photos I must get round to putting up, though that seems a bit redundant these days with Henrich Mallison now a blogger too. After all, what can I possibly say about this animal compared to what he’s already put up?

6 Responses to “Lufengosaurus”


  1. 1 Paul Barrett 01/01/2012 at 1:57 pm

    It is definitely the holotype, IVPP V15, with it’s skull very close to the ceiling on the first floor display of the Paleozoological Museum of China. Was quite interesting trying to study this whilst on a wobbly ladder with a torch in one hand and my cheek pressed to the ceiling next to the 30 foot drop into the central atrium of the museum, before we realised it could be removed by just taking out two screws… Althoughwe originally published drawings of the skull, I’d like to ind an excuse to publish our decent pics, taken once it had been dismounted…

    • 2 David Hone 01/01/2012 at 2:33 pm

      Yes it’s not the most accessible specimen without taking the head off. I got to see it like that years ago when there with Oli Rauhut and his crew, though we spend most of our time out at Xiaotanshang with Sinraptor (well they did, I was ‘in absentia’ with illness). Still, easier to get to than the Mamenchisaurus and Klamelisaurus material…

  2. 3 Robert Sloan 01/01/2012 at 3:49 pm

    Dave, thanks to your blog I’m taking an interest in so many dinosaurs that I’d otherwise not paid much attention to. This is a beautiful skull and sauropodomorphs are cool too. The dino-kid will always be a part of me but he’s expanded his interest even though he does still cheer theropods. lol

  3. 4 Zhen 01/01/2012 at 9:45 pm

    Actually, I heard there is an unpublished sauropodamorph that rivals the Diplodocus holotype in size. Not sure when it’ll be published, but it’s huge.


  1. 1 DINOSAURICON L « Tsjok's blog Trackback on 01/10/2012 at 6:55 pm
Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers


