Pittsburgh day 2

Well there wasn’t much of a day 1 to be honest since well, I only turned up at 6pm local time last night. Still I was here yesterday so that’s why I’m calling this a 2. I’ll not be blogging my trip here as a journal since that’s not really what it’s about, but since I have managed to run up over 200 photos on the dinosaur hall alone in the Carnegie this afternoon, it seemed worth putting up a couple of teaser shots. Above, my host, Mike Habib (of Pterosaur.net and H2VP fame / infamy) poses with a sauropod skull cast and below, well, it’s me, with a dirty great Tyrannosaurus mount. I’m already working on some more posts and to be honest this one room is probably going to keep me going to the end of the year I’m so loaded with images already which is great. More to come shortly, but probably irregularly, but I’ll try to keep to my usual ‘post-a-day’ schedule despite the work ahead of me on this trip.

7 Responses to “Pittsburgh day 2”


  1. 1 SteveCohen 09/11/2011 at 11:43 pm

    I’m only a layman volunteer “fossil explainer” at AMNH but it looks like the sauropod skull cast in the photo has too many teeth.

    The “World’s Largest Dinosaur” exhibit (curated by Mark Norell of AMNH and Martin Sander of Univ of Bonn) currently running at AMNH emphasizes that sauropods only had teeth in the front as they didn’t chew.

    Not chewing would be the only way it would have enough time in a day to consume enough food (~1,200 lbs/day) to survive.

    • 2 Mike Taylor 10/11/2011 at 1:28 pm

      The “World’s Largest Dinosaur” exhibit (curated by Mark Norell of AMNH and Martin Sander of Univ of Bonn) currently running at AMNH emphasizes that sauropods only had teeth in the front as they didn’t chew.

      I hope it doesn’t! It’s true that sauropods in general didn’t chew, and it’s true that diplodocids in particular had teeth only in the front of their mouths, but there are plenty of other sauropods that had cropping teeth all around the margin of the mouth — see for example this picture of the skull of Giraffatitan: http://svpow.wordpress.com/2008/12/03/shedloads-of-awesome-part-2-mike-and-matts-excellent-adventure/

  2. 3 Zhen 10/11/2011 at 12:38 am

    Beautiful pictures as always. It never ceases to amaze me how small the heads of sauropods are.

    Also, is that the T.rex holotype? Or is that Peck’s T.rex? All the photos I’ve seen of this exhibit always tries to cram both specimens into the shot.

    Enjoy your trip Dave, you always bring back so many excellent photos to share.

  3. 4 Robert A. Sloan 10/11/2011 at 2:12 am

    Beautiful photos! I’m envious, so glad you got tons of photos! Gorgeous tyrannosaur mount too, I like its pose. Looks lean and hungry.

  4. 5 David Adamson 10/11/2011 at 2:12 am

    If you end up on Carnegie Mellon’s campus while you’re in town, the lobby of the drama building is currently showcasing two lovely full-size stegosaurs done up by a technical theater class…

  5. 6 Robert Schenck 10/11/2011 at 2:57 pm

    Is it my imagination or is the T. rex head totally not connected to the spine in that photo?


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 457 other followers


