Crowdsourcing thingy

In the tradition of my general typing this was nearly entitled ‘crowsourcing’ which may have been very interesting (and possibly more effective). Anyway, I’m struggling to find some literature and thought I should ask around for help.

I’m doing a short piece of work on the science of science – how papers are put together, what things tend to get published (or left out) and so on. I have found a bit on publication bias (the tendency not to publish negative results) but after that I’m not doing too well. The problem is that I’m not familiar with the field so I don’t have a pile of papers to hand to work from, and it’s not a commonly discussed subject. Moreover, searching on something like Google Scholar for keywords like “science” “abstract” “publication” and “research” don’t get you very far. They tend to recover everything or overly specific papers on some essay or editorial on the subject as a whole.

Anyway, if you know of a few papers that deal with these patterns of publication then do drop their citations into the comments or links to where they can be found. Much appreciated.

4 Responses to “Crowdsourcing thingy”


  1. 1 David 05/06/2011 at 9:15 am

    I think you need to be more specific on what you are looking for. Is this a “how to get published guide” or some kind of critique of the bias in the scientific literature or what? A lot of the latter comes up in meta-analysis.

    • 2 David Hone 05/06/2011 at 9:55 am

      The latter really. Biases in the literature, rates of publication and simialr patterns. I’m really only looking for a few citations to support something I’m working on, so it’s not like I need dozens of papers etc. Just a couple of things that give me a good starting point to go looking for further papers. It’s getting that seed to start from.

  2. 3 Ilja Nieuwland 06/06/2011 at 10:11 am

    A good starting point might be the work of Steven Shapin and Simon Schaffer, who have dealt with the sociology of scientific discourse and the role and sources of authority from a historical viewpoint. However, many of the mechanisms they discuss are still in force today.

    Also, the list at the bottom of this Wikipedia article might give you something to get started: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sociology_of_scientific_knowledge

  3. 4 Dave C 06/06/2011 at 12:32 pm

    Hi Dave,

    I work in the industry and much of the work in this area is published as government white papers rather than journal papers, so it might be worth looking there for some inspiration.

    All the best, and I would be interested to see a link to the article once it is finished.

    Dave


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers


