Euler’s Identity

I’m a big supporter of science communication in all it’s forms, though of course my understanding and appreciation is generally limited to the biological. I do however look for and turn up things in other fields and there’s always the change to see a pro at work, see something that can be applied to your own efforts, or learn something new. This one is however rather more personal since the executor (as it were) is a very good friend of mine (and incidentally, the man who rebuilt AAB for me). It’s so maths-y I got a bit lost first time round, but I demand you watch anyway.

Take it away please Mr Humpage:

For the record, the format of the series means you have only 5 minutes and 20 slides and a fixed 15 seconds per slide. So it’s damned fast.

4 Responses to “Euler’s Identity”


  1. 1 Mark Robinson 08/04/2011 at 12:46 pm

    Bloody Hell, Dave! I think you should have a warning label if we’re going to have to do that much thinking!

    Next week: Lorentzian manifolds and their application to General Relativity.

    And then: Quantum Mechanics and the Copenhagen Interpretation. Probably.

    • 2 David Hone 08/04/2011 at 1:12 pm

      There might have been videos on them, not looked yet. And yeah, sorry I’m generally a thought-light blog, this is a toughie. Worth repeat viewings though I think.

  2. 3 Oliver Humpage 08/04/2011 at 3:37 pm

    I was planning a talk on “To Infinity and No Further” for my next Ignite talk, hopefully in the autumn. Should be slightly less hardcore, but still involve proper maths🙂

    BTW cheers Dave for linking to this.

    • 4 Mark Robinson 09/04/2011 at 10:47 am

      Will you be checking in to the Hilbert Hotel?😉

      My prev comment was a bit of “buccalingus”. I think Euler’s identity is a thing of beauty but only found out about it in 2006 or 2007 whilst wandering around Wikipedia.

      However, once things get beyond my grasp, I have a sneaking suspicion that the maths guys and the theoretical physics guys (who are really just maths guys anyway) make up some of the things that they tell us.


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers


