OK, so I’m just milking it now – final Zhuchengtyrannus roundup

Yeah, this is still creeping along. I’m trying to stop honest and while I’m sure I’ve lost most people by now, this is more or less the end of it. (More or less because there are ZT related things to come but which won’t actually really mention the damned beast itself so from here you’re basically safe). This has, understandably, been a hectic week and I’ve still got bits of work to do related to this so I’m not quite done, even if the blog is.

Going all the way back to the Eeeek! post, I want to again thank people for being helpful and not jumping me with ZT appearing all over the web before we were ready. It is much appreciated and helped us get maximum impact with the media. On that note, I’ve yet to put up this link to the University College Dublin page where there are links to a great many of the online media about Zhuchengtyrannus including a video of me talking about it. If you’re not interested in hearing me say things you’ve already heard or read 50 times over on here then you can try and identify all the various dinosaur and pterosaur books on the shelf behind me. Fun for all the family (possibly).

And while I’m here, here’s links to all the previous posts on here introducing this guy, notes on the taxonomy, ecology, size, and artwork. And if really like this, go do a Google image search for ‘Zhuchengtyrannus’, it’s quite startling.

 

6 Responses to “OK, so I’m just milking it now – final Zhuchengtyrannus roundup”


  1. 1 Mike Taylor 05/04/2011 at 11:19 am

    Don’t apologise for blogging your own dinosaur!

    Nice video, and good to see the PhyloPic project getting what I think may be its first acknowledgement in mainstream media.

    And this is a really nice piece of work:
    http://hodarinundu.deviantart.com/art/Zhuchengtyrannus-magnus-203223969

    • 2 David Hone 05/04/2011 at 11:29 am

      Well there’s blogging it and there’s blogging it!

      Could be for Phylopic. The UCD people wanted a scaled image and I directed them there, looked nice actually.

      And yes, i’d seen that image, it is nice.

  2. 3 Zach Miller 07/04/2011 at 8:34 pm

    Dave, I’ve got a question not directly related to Zhuchengtyrannus, but…sort of is.

    Do you think there’s a phylogenetic dichotemy between the Asian tyrannosaurines and North American tyrannosaurines? I know that split has been proposed in the past (maybe by Phil Currie?). Something like Asia’s “albertosaurs” are represented by Alioramus while it’s “Tyrannosaurus” is Tarbosaurus (and, now, Zhuchengtyrannus). Is there any validity to that dichotemy?

    Just curious. It’s interesting that “gracile” and “robust” tyrannosaurines occur on both sides of the Pacific.

    • 4 David Hone 07/04/2011 at 8:51 pm

      Well I don’t know to be honest and I’m not sure how you’d find out unless that came up in a phylogeny, but it probably wont’ any time soon (or at least not convincingly) since you can only code ZT (and the other new taxon) for so few characters. We need better material and right now at least, we don’t have it. My guess is that it’s jsut faunal interchange – we have tyrannosaurids, tyrannosaurine, ceratopsids, ankylosaurs, hadrosaurs, dromaeosaurs and troodontids on both sides of the north Pacific and it seems likely that it was easy enough for things to move from one side to the other at least on occasion so i don’t see a need to invoke any kind of iterative evolution on both sides of the sea.

  3. 5 Zach Miller 07/04/2011 at 8:57 pm

    Right on. That seems like the simpler solution to me, too.

  4. 6 Tim Donovan 13/04/2011 at 3:23 pm

    “..Asia’s “albertosaurs” are represented by Alioramus..”

    Doubt it.

    “..it’s “Tyrannosaurus” is Tarbosaurus (and, now, Zhuchengtyrannus)..”

    You got to take into consideration the temporal difference between T. bataar/Z. magnus and T. rex. If they were contemporaries, it would be tempting to suggest that, but they weren’t. I assume T. rex was descended from something intermediate between D. torosus and itself i.e. something like Tarbosaurus, but there’s no evidence for it in the early Maastrichtian of America. I also think it likely Asia had Tyrannosaurus in the late Maastrichtian but again, the fossil record isn’t very helpful; there’s little of that age in Asia.


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers


