Sinopterus at the IVPP

The blog has been quiet the last couple of days because I’ve been in transit / in jetlag for the last few days as I’m back in Beijing. However, I’m now more or less compus mentus and I have some nice new photos of various specimens from the exhibition halls so the posts will be picking up again and with some nice looking stuff. Stay tuned and in the meantime, enjoy the skull of the holotype of Sinopterus.

7 Responses to “Sinopterus at the IVPP”


  1. 1 David 26/02/2011 at 3:33 am

    I just randomly thought of a question that might generate an interesting blogpost if you’re interested. “If you could travel back in time what are the five top things you’d want to check out in the field?”

    • 2 David Hone 26/02/2011 at 8:16 am

      Blimey, i think my shortlist would run to a few hundred points or concepts but I’ll give this some serious thought, thanks.

    • 3 Mark Robinson 27/02/2011 at 8:03 am

      That’s actually a more interesting question than I first thought. Serious palaeo-workers would perhaps be torn between wanting to gather evidence for or against any number of theories, and accommodating the kid that is prob still within most of them and checking out their favourite critter(s).

      At least for me I could study my personal favourite, Baryonyx, and perhaps also confirm whether it was a preferential piscivore or had a more catholic diet (fish on Fridays ;-) ).

      • 4 David Hone 27/02/2011 at 8:35 am

        Those were my first thoughts. There are some things I’d just love to see for the pure thrill, some I’d love to see to finally sort out nagging problems, and some which I should do for the general interests of science.


  1. 1 Time Travel « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 28/02/2011 at 11:33 pm
  2. 2 Kicking off with Haopterus « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 05/03/2011 at 2:28 am
  3. 3 On the Nature of Being a Pterosaur | The Bite Stuff Trackback on 17/06/2013 at 7:59 am

Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 319 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 319 other followers

