Introducing Brontomerus

This is really just a quick post because all the action is of course going down at SV-POW. Yes there is a new sauropod on the block and the SV-POW boys, or at least Mike Taylor and Matt Wedel, are in part responsible. So inevitably you can get all the real details there and I am in this case, little more than the messenger.

Still, it’s always nice to talk about a new taxon and I’m sure this guy, named Brontomerus, will be in the news and blogosphere if only for the name. It shares a large part, rather obviously, with the defunct ‘Brontosaurus’ and that I’m sure will go down well. But this is not a thunder-lizard, but a thunder-thighs. Yes, them named it for having, for want of a better phrase, fat legs. It has more going for it than that of course but for the real skinny, hop on over there and take a gander at the first of what could be quite a long series of posts. And watch out for the inevitable avalanche of inaccurate references to Brontosaurus in the media.

Brontomerus life reconstruction. Courtesy of F. Gascó.

5 Responses to “Introducing Brontomerus”


  1. 1 Nick Gardner 23/02/2011 at 12:34 pm

    It’s “Gascó”….

  2. 3 Marc Vincent 24/02/2011 at 8:19 pm

    I’ve got to say that I haven’t noted any references to “Brontosaurus” yet from the MSM, although I haven’t looked at all the national papers. Also, both the name Brontomerus and Mike Taylor himself are an absolute gift to the media. “Thunder thighs – it could kick the crap out of them!”

    • 4 David Hone 25/02/2011 at 1:05 am

      Yeah I’ve been surprised by a general lack so far, though as ever these kinds of things kick-in during the second and third generation of stories. It may yet appear, thouhg I’m pleasantly surprised that it hasn’t yet.

  3. 5 Cale 26/02/2011 at 1:12 pm

    that final image of the Brontomerus punting that little dromaeosaur like a feathery little football was priceless. I don’t care if it’s scientifically likely or accurate or not, with a name that means ‘Thunder Thighs’ I’m gonna assume the artist just couldn’t resist.

    I know I couldn’t.


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 457 other followers


