Polacanthus

I’ve long had a soft spot for Polacanthus, an early-ish ankylosaur. This is due entirely to a dinosaur book owned by my brother which included a lovely restoration of this dinosaur which I really took to. It seemed quite unlike all the ‘classics’ which was all I knew of dinosaurs at the time and I liked the fact that it looked so different. This however is all the Polacanthus material I have ever seen – a single piece of armour that was on display in the Bristol city museum. Hardly impressive, but I was pleased to see it.

2 Responses to “Polacanthus”


  1. 1 Morgan O'Brien 03/10/2010 at 5:23 pm

    This seems like a wonderful species…I think I might include him in one of my watercolour illustrations! I love the blog btw…keep up the great work!

    • 2 David Hone 04/10/2010 at 8:40 am

      Well I wouldn’t base too much on this photo or people may not be too impressed!😉 Helps to have more than one bit of the armour when doing a reconstruction, but yes, it is well worht hunting down.


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 455 other followers


