Call for dinosaur papers

This isn’t usually my thing to put up very academic bits on the Musings, but as I’m involved I probably should this time. Corwin Sullivan and I will be joint editing a volume of dinosaur papers for the Chinese journal Vertebrata PalAsiatica and this is an announcement to ask for submissions. This has already gone out as an e-mail to a couple of groups so feel free to ignore it, if you’ve not seen it and are interested then carry on this way:

Dear Colleagues,

As some of you may know, I was recently appointed as English Editor of the journal Vertebrata PalAsiatica, produced by the Institute of Vertebrate Paleontology and Paleoanthropology in Beijing. Vertebrata PalAsiatica is more than 50 years old, publishes content in both English and Chinese, and makes its papers freely available online.

My appointment is part of an ongoing effort by the journal to reach out to non-Chinese researchers and become more internationally accessible. To this end, Vertebrata PalAsiatica will be publishing a special issue dedicated to Asian non-avian dinosaurs, tentatively scheduled for autumn 2011 and to be guest-edited by myself and David Hone. David and I are therefore issuing an open call for papers for this special issue, with a submission deadline of November 30, 2010.

Papers can be on any aspect of Asian non-avian dinosaur palaeontology, from descriptions of new finds to taxonomic revisions or analyses of ichnology, ecology, functional morphology, or similar topics. Brief review papers are especially welcome.

Papers should be submitted by e-mail to myself or David Hone, in the format specified in the Vertebrata PalAsiatica submission guidelines (available here). All manuscripts should be submitted in English, although the abstract and any anatomical abbreviations will need to be translated into Chinese prior to publication. Translation can be carried out by journal staff if required.

All contributions will be rigorously peer-reviewed. As the special issue will be limited to a maximum of 136 published pages, some manuscripts that receive good reviews may have to be excluded purely because of space considerations. Authors whose contributions fall into this category will have the option of publishing in a later issue of Vertebrata PalAsiatica. We anticipate completing the review process in the spring of 2011, with final revised versions of manuscripts falling due in July.

Please send any questions to:

Dr Corwin Sullivan: csullivan AT ivpp.ac.cn
or Dr David Hone: dwe_hone AT yahoo.com

Sincerely,

Corwin Sullivan

2 Responses to “Call for dinosaur papers”


  1. 1 Nick 12/04/2010 at 11:39 am

    I hope the peer-review will be more rigorous than the Flugsaurier volume.

    Cheers,
    Nick

    • 2 David Hone 12/04/2010 at 11:46 am

      Well thanks for that. I assume from that glib and not really very pleasant remark that you think my job as an editor and those of my co-editor and the referees were not very good. Well, if you don’t like it fine. If there are mistakes, well, that happens. But I did my best, as did, I trusted, my colleagues. That’s how it works, it’s not perfect, it rarely is, but no need to be snide about it.

      Whatever happened to “if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all”. If you had a problem with it, why not e-mail me personally to discuss it, or the referees of the papers in question, rather than waiting 16 months till after it was published to leave a comment like this on a public forum?

      I’m not impressed.


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers


