The most magical bone in China

There’s really not much I can add to this title and this photo.

7 Responses to “The most magical bone in China”


  1. 1 mattvr 19/01/2010 at 10:33 am

    That’s set the bar for all museum displays, I won’t even look at another fossil unless it’s at least sitting in silk cushions.

    Do they provide music so you can use the disco floor?

    • 2 David Hone 19/01/2010 at 1:00 pm

      It is quite awesome isn’t it? I do like the rhinestone chandelier too.

      Sadly no Sly and the Family Stone to jive to, though it would help.

  2. 3 Mike Taylor 20/01/2010 at 12:06 am

    What the heck is it? Apart from sauropods, I’d have thought only the very biggest hadrosaurs had femora that size, and this doesn’t look like a hadrosaur femur to me — too rounded in cross-section. So is it a sauropod femur with a truly gigantic fourth trochanter? If so, it’s very unusual.

  3. 5 Mike Taylor 20/01/2010 at 8:45 am

    Well, that IS a big boy. Did you get measurements?

    • 6 David Hone 20/01/2010 at 9:32 am

      Yup, but it’s a pseudo secret, sort of. Typical silliness – I’m told to keep all work on this site a secret except that they already have a public exhibition and put out a press release on the find which ended up in the international press. So I’m not allowed to talk about something already featured on the BBC / in the Times etc. Gah.

      Still, I don’t want to cause problems so apologies while I keep schtum.


  1. 1 Zhucheng week: starting with Shantungosaurus « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 04/07/2011 at 1:13 am
Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 457 other followers


