The dangers of palaeontological research

While there are of course general risks associated with palaeontolgical fieldwork (scorpions, cliffs, cactuses, snakes, food poisioning and the like) the dangers in museums and research institutes are often overlooked. I want to blow the lid off of one of the best kept secrets of research – even basements can be incredibly dangerours thanks to the secret research we are carryng out. It’s just fortunate that my student Ross Elgin had his camera handy when this happened to me recently in Stuttgart:


dsc_0168

They don’t tell you about this in grad school I can assure you.

Share this Post

4 Responses to “The dangers of palaeontological research”


  1. 1 Traumador the Tyrannosaur 05/04/2009 at 3:57 pm

    Ah man… I hate it when my relatives do that!

    Especially seeing how museums are some of the few places we Dinosaurs are allowed to live in this the human world…
    😛

  2. 2 David Hone 05/04/2009 at 10:24 pm

    Yeah, you turn your back for one minute and a tyrannosaur comes through the wall. An don’t talk to me about the bills for the plastering!

  3. 3 David Orr 06/04/2010 at 7:50 pm

    I’m sure more than one little kid has been traumatized by that…


Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 457 other followers


