Black and White dinosaurs follow up

Recently I put up a post about the general lack of dinosaurs in palaeoart that are black and white in colour, and gave a few examples of just how common this can be in extant species and the various reasons that an animal might evolve such colouration. Fortunately I put in the proviso that there might be quite a few examples that I was not aware of or had forgotten. Which was handy because then I started finding more, or was directed to them by various colleagues.

pteranodon

First off I had missed a nice Pteranodon by Musings favourite Luis Rey which I have put up above. He also has a nice Shuvuuia in the Dinosaurs book Luis illustrated for Tom Holtz (though it has a lot of bare pink skin it must be said, as did a black and white Deinonychus).

Peter Schouten has contributed Coelurus, Alectrosaurus and Ornitholestes among others in ‘Feathered Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds’ (by John Long, OUP, 2008). Ken Kirkland adds a zebra-striped ornithomimid (though with brown hindquarters) to the collection in Dinosaurs and Other Mesozoic Reptiles of California (Richard Hilton, UCP, 2003) and Mike Skrepnick has produced a feathered black and white Avimimus.

There is both a black and white lambeosaur and daspletosaur in Dougal Dixon’s latest dinosaur book (or so I am informed). John Sibbick has drawn a more dark-brown-and-white Anhanguera, and a proper black and white Scaphognathus for the great Encyclopedia of Pterosaurs by Peter Wellnhofer. Finally, Craig Dylke of Trumador Tyrannosaur sent me this nice monochromatic Styracosaurus, so there are clearly more out there and more on the way.

styracosaurus

3 Responses to “Black and White dinosaurs follow up”


  1. 1 Darren Naish 08/11/2008 at 8:48 pm

    On Craig’s styracosaur pic, note that – in fact – the nasal horn was not as long as is always shown: the nasal horn of the original specimen is broken, and Lambe wrongly assumed a very long sharp-tipped horn (newer specimens demonstrate a shorter, blunter horn). Lambe wrongly assumed small supraorbital horns too, but I think we can forgive him for that. See…

    Ryan, M. J., Holmes, R. & Russell, A. P. 2007. A revision of the late Campanian centrosaurine ceratopsid genus Styracosaurus from the Western Interior of North America. Journal of Vertebrate Paleontology 27, 944-962.

  2. 2 Craig Dylke 09/11/2008 at 5:25 am

    Thanks Darren!

    I had noticed a new Styraco at the Royal Tyrrell indeed possessed a very short nose horn, but due to its being a juvie I just assumed it hadn’t grown yet. We had a cast of Lambe’s skull with the huge horn, and I couldn’t tell the it had been reconstructed (the problem with casts really!).

    I’ll make some adjustments to the model (the great thing about 3D palaeo art you can “easily” fix things). I just wish I had more of my Dinosaur books to reference skeletons from. When I moved down to New Zealand I could only bring 3 *tear*.

    Otherwise is the anatomy on the Styraco alright? I won’t lie and claim I strive for 100% accuracy (on account of lack of enough references, and limited spare time), but for one of my dinos I think he is among my best.


  1. 1 Animal camoflage « Dave Hone’s Archosaur Musings Trackback on 04/04/2009 at 9:52 am
Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers


