A new website

banner-v5Longtime readers will know that the Musings is in not so much hibernation as torpor, roused occasionally with some small titbits, but mostly sitting around with relatively little action. I still have posts on pterosaurs over at Pterosaur.net blog and most of my output now is via the Lost Worlds, and continue to put things up on other sites, especially Ask A Biologist.

However, for all my output online, and the sites that I have created and invested in, something for me, has always been left on the side. For years I never had a personal site at all, or just a few lines on the homepage of whichever institute I was at, but recently I’ve had an ugly google sites page that was just black on white text and a few images. It was horrible to update and format and an all round pain. As you’ve already guessed from the above picture, I now have a new online home: davehone.co.uk

This doesn’t supplant any of my outreach efforts, although there’s a blog and twitter feed, it’s there basically as a one-stop-shop for various things. There’s pages for my research, outreach, a gallery is coming, and there’s a full list of my papers and PDFs too. It also looks really nice, and finally I have something that actually looks professional associated with my work. There may not be that much of interest there for many readers, but I’m rather proud of it (I had a hand in the design of the site and the banner, though credit of course goes to David Orr for what is up there) and it’s hopefully worth a look.

 

 

4 Responses to “A new website”


  1. 1 Thomas Peace (author) 19/03/2014 at 9:21 pm

    Very nice site! Always great when paleontologists create new, unique web sites! :)

  2. 2 Kilian Hekhuis 20/03/2014 at 8:46 am

    Nice site indeed. Though you have a bit of a devilish grin there, as if you’re going to stab me with that tooth :)

  3. 3 Kilian Hekhuis 20/03/2014 at 8:51 am

    Found a minor grammar glitch, I think (though I’m not a native speaker of English, so don’t kill me if I’m wrong). On the Outreach page, “where I talk about dinosaurs, pterosaurs and science in the media for a more advanced readers”. I think the “a” is wrong there? Probably had “audience” in mind instead of “readers”?

    • 4 David Hone 20/03/2014 at 9:08 am

      Hi, thanks for those spots. As usual typos get the better of me, and things like ‘for / form’ don’t show up in Word as errors because they are correct words. :) I’ll go fix them. I did have someone read through the site for me to check, but well, neither of us is perfect, clearly.


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

