Reddit

I’m about to launch a Reddit ‘Ask Me Anything’, with the screen name of ‘davehone’. Obviously I’ve answered tons of questions here before, but here’s a chance for something different. Cheers.

2 Responses to “Reddit”


  1. 1 MissCPB 01/07/2013 at 1:19 am

    I left this comment on reddit after you finished your AMA and I’m dying for a response! If you wouldn’t mind emailing me when you want to respond I would be very glad! Qu4gm1re@gmail.com
    Okay, here’s my comment:

    “My childhood passion!
    I’m a firm believer that T. rex was a scavenger-predator, something like a jaguar or other big cat. I think that T. rex would ambush kill its prey (maybe an adolescent that wandered too far from the herd) and drag or carry it by mouth to a secluded place for feasting. There’s many reasons I think this, the most obvious being the fragile nature of his upper body, and the fantastic musculature of his skull and jaw. I’m doubtful that T. rex in particular climbed trees as their places of seclusion, but as that would certainly be an evolutionary advantage, I would propose some of the smaller tyrannids may have used this skill.
    Thoughts?
    Sincerely hope to hear back!

    Another thought! As a backup plan, T. rex might’ve had a poisonous bite like the Komodo dragon does today! Just in case the initial ambush doesn’t work out. “

    • 2 David Hone 02/07/2013 at 4:35 pm

      Hi, sorry I couldn’t get to this on Reddit – questions were literally coming in 3-4 times faster than I could answer and after 5 hours I had to give up.

      Pretty much all researchers agree that large tyrannosaurs were both predators and scavengers as the occasion demands, and indeed we have good evidence for both of those behaviours in the fossil record.

      In general I think predators tried for juvenile prey (I’ve written a paper on this phenomenon, it’s basically the norm for the vast majority of predatory animals), but as for specific styles of hunting it’s pretty much speculation at the moment as there’s no evidence for how they hunted.

      Without a doubt they would use their heads, but their bodies are not weak – they had strong necks and squat torsos to hold up those big heads. As for tree climbing, even the very smallest tyrannosaurs don’t look well suited to it, and the big guys with those diddy arms and weights up to 10 tons I think would be more likely to knock down trees than climb into them.


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

