Tyrrell tyrannosaurs

And so to the Tyrrell. Well, there’s really quite a lot to come here, from the setting of the buildings, the collections and of course the galleries. As with the Carnegie, it’s going to take quite some time, and so I really do hope people don’t get sick of it, but well, for those who have never been and may never go, I’m sure it’ll be something of a delight, and even those who know the museum well, I hope I can add some new thoughts.
IMG_2050

Although there are life reconstructions outside the museum and various details of the building and so on, I’d though I’d begin with what is effectively the start of the museum and the entrance hall which contains four life sized reconstructions of various Albertan tyrannosaurines. They are certainly impressive, and rather appropriate, and the setting is rather well done, though I have to be picky and point that they all have rather odd heads, and given that these are (as far as I could tell) supposed to represent two or three different species, the fact that they are all the same colour and pattern is rather a disappointment.

IMG_2052

Nitpicking aside, they really do dominate the room and are beautifully made. Everyone I saw who entered stopped to have a good look and the effect on the kids was obviously superb. They do have problems, but as an introduction to a dinosaur museum, I thought they were superb.

IMG_2055

5 Responses to “Tyrrell tyrannosaurs”


  1. 1 Christopher Collinson 16/05/2013 at 9:45 pm

    It really is an absolutely awesome museum! What gives you the impression that multiple species are represented? It was my understanding that the display is supposed to be a family group, either of Albertosaurus or Gorgosaurus. Also, could you elaborate a bit more as to the issues/problems you have with the models?

    • 2 David Hone 16/05/2013 at 9:54 pm

      Maybe I misread / misremembered a sign, but I thought I saw soemthing about them representing various species. Even if they are supposed to be a family, you might expect the youngster at least to be a different colour to the adults or something.

      As for the problems, well the ears are in the wrong place (thought I’ve seen the draft maquettes and some are right and some wrong on this point). What’s not apparent from these photos is that the big ‘roaring’ one has a rather oddly shaped head – the snout is as wider or wider than the back of the skull, and also appears to be taller anteriorly than posteriorly.

      Don’t get me wrong, these are far from bad and I like them a lot, but that one head especially looks really misshapen to my eye and I found it rather offputting (though I’m aware that it could all be an illusion, it’s not like I’ve measured the damn thing or checked it against a skull at the same angle etc).

  2. 3 Victoria Arbour 16/05/2013 at 10:01 pm

    Glad you had a great trip Dave! The entrance diorama (“Cretaceous Alberta”) is represents data from the Dry Island Buffalo Jump Albertosaurus bonebed, as well as the Horseshoe Canyon Formation fauna more generally (you can see an Eotriceratops in the painting on the wall if you look closely).

    • 4 David Hone 16/05/2013 at 10:04 pm

      Ah I did not know that (and therefore probably missed a sign). Still, I’d stand by my general ‘a bit of different colour would have looked nice’ comment.

  3. 5 Craig Dylke 18/05/2013 at 7:15 am

    When they initially opened the display there was no sign. It was a self interpreting area…

    So if they added a sign it must not be very good :P

    My only complaint, and it is minor, is there could have been a few more micro fanuna. The pond only had a couple fish and turtles, and there is a mammal up in one of the trees. I would have loved to see a bigger pond with a Mylodaphus and/or Champsosaur.


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

