More from the studio of Luis Rey

I spent yesterday with Luis Rey, catching up after far too long and helping him out as he wanted to start a blog. We had some computer problems, but eventually got things working and stuck up a bunch of posts. Luis has produced or modified a lot of pictures over the last couple of years that no-one has seen but now they’re starting to come online. If you want to check it, out, drop into his blog here.

The last time I visited, Luis let me take a bunch of photos of his studio and that led to the first of the palaeoart interview series. It’s packed with casts, models, sculptures and paintings and includes a good number of commercial pieces that Luis has retouched or repainted. Once again he was kind enough to let me snap away so enjoy some more of his bits and pieces.

10 Responses to “More from the studio of Luis Rey”


  1. 1 himmapaan 21/06/2012 at 4:38 pm

    Oh, gosh, those amazing models… Especially the Barosaurus & Allosaurus piece.

  2. 4 Marc Vincent 22/06/2012 at 9:27 am

    I note that Luis Rey is a fan of Kaiyodo Dinotales models. The man’s got taste…

  3. 6 luisvrey 22/06/2012 at 11:45 am

    Just for the record… I used to work with Kaiyodo a while ago and I consider them my friends. I gave Mr. Miyawaki (the Great Man of Kaiyodo) a piece of my artwork and there was the possibility of doing some designs for a dinosaur theme park that never come to fruition.. I customised and modified some of the kits for my collection too (updated them), Their models continue to be the best (specially now the small “Chocolasaurus” series… you can learn anatomy with their miniatures!

    Unfortunately they are too expensive now!

  4. 9 Mark Robinson 23/06/2012 at 3:56 am

    Thanks for the post, Dave. Luis was half the reason I bought “Dinosaurs” despite having lots of dinosaur books already (Tom was, obviously, the other half).

    I couldn’t find your email so I’ll say this here – the photos above have been added as separate posts which means that you have to click on them twice to view the full version. Also, “P1020393″ and friends are now dominating the Top Posts list.

  5. 10 Christopher Collinson 23/06/2012 at 8:11 pm

    Where does that skeletal model of the AMNH Triceratops come from?


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 318 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 318 other followers

