Academics on archosaurs

I have been delighted with the response to the (theoretically at least) ongoing series of palaeoart interviews. People seem to really enjoy them, and having a whole series with the same questions has enabled readers to cross compare ideas and see a little of the mechanics of the minds of the artists. Now while I do love good palaeoart, but I do want the focus of the Musings to be more about the science and recently I have started to wind down a bit. However, a solution to both issues popped into my head just the other day – to interview my colleagues about their research.

Now the obvious problem is that a good interview digs deep into the workings of a researcher’s field, how they work, how things intertwine, and can go back and fourth to develop ideas. That means a long and involved process and I’m no skilled interviewer and moreover, few people will want to take that kind of time and effort. My solution therefore is to pose just a few short and simple questions that will be quick and easy to answer and hopefully encourage people to take part and yet by focusing them on their own research themes, provide contrasting and expansive answers.

In short I hope to build up a body of these that will get a wide range of researchers to talk about their work and interests and provide a much broader picture of the state of archosaurian science than just reviews of papers and new discoveries, and to get a chance to hear from a lot more people than just those of us who blog or comment regularly. We’ll see how it goes of course, but I do already have a few lined up and a bunch of feelers out there. This will hopefully therefore become a frequent, if irregular, new theme on the Musings and so I’ve put up a new category to cover it.

The first proper interview will follow very shortly, stay tuned!

2 Responses to “Academics on archosaurs”


  1. 1 Robert A. Sloan 15/05/2012 at 10:46 am

    I’m looking forward to these articles. They sound great. Cool idea.

    • 2 David Hone 15/05/2012 at 10:50 am

      Well I’ve got one uploaded and ready to go by Tom Holtz that will go up shortly. Several other people have a;ready agreed to do this, and I have a bunch of further requests out there. So this could grind to a halt if everyone says no, but I should get a half dozen if all the provisional ‘yes’s come in and obviously I hope that the short format will encourage many more to pitch in. We’ll see, but i do have high hopes for this.


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

