Lambeosaurus

While I’m clearing out old photo albums, here’s a cast of the Lambeosaurus head. Well, I rather assume it is, I’m not that familiar with the more obscure hadrosaurian crests and this does look about half-way between a Corythosaurus and Lambeosaurus. A quick skim of Lull & Wright suggests it’s more like L. magnicristatus than anything else, but it’s still not *quite* right for that either.

It’s held in the basement at Eichstaett and they don’t seem to know where it’s from beyond ‘Canada’ or which specimen it’s based on / taxon it’s supposed to be. Anyway, it is a nice one and something I’ve not seen before (perhaps no surprise given the paucity of hadrosaur mounts in Europe) and lacking anything else to go up till New Year it’ll have to do!

17 Responses to “Lambeosaurus”


  1. 1 Jon Tennant 31/12/2011 at 10:59 am

    The posterior margin of the crest looks like a section of it has been lost to me..

  2. 3 dmaas 31/12/2011 at 11:45 am

    Looks a good deal like Elvisosaurus.

  3. 5 Traumador the Tyrannosaur 31/12/2011 at 11:57 am

    It is indeed L. magnicristatus, and a cast of, I believe, the type specimen for which the original is held by the Royal Ontario Museum (sorry I don’t know the exact specimen number, but I’m sure it is pretty easy to find out with access to papers). It was excavated by the Sternbergs, but I don’t have any of my books or notes here in Hong Kong at moment. If you ask Darren Tanke I’m pretty sure he can fill you in on the details (plus I think he relocated this fellows quarry)

    • 6 David Hone 31/12/2011 at 12:04 pm

      That’s all very interesting to note (not least that I might have actually got the identity right!). I was only able to find one picture of L. magnicristatus in my files and it wasn’t this specimen which is why I wasn’t convinced i had it quite right.

      Cheers for this! Darren might well pop up on here sooner or later and say.

  4. 7 Jon Tennant (@Protohedgehog) 31/12/2011 at 12:19 pm

    ANATOMY AND RELATIONSHIPS OF LAMBEOSAURUS MAGNICRISTATUS, A CRESTED HADROSAURID DINOSAUR (ORNITHISCHIA) FROM THE DINOSAUR PARK FORMATION, ALBERTA

    There’s an image (http://bit.ly/vkPjDK) of the holotype in the above paper (fig.2), which suggests this isn’t a cast of the holotype specimen.

  5. 9 Robert Sloan 31/12/2011 at 2:25 pm

    This is great! The comments are as interesting as the post this time, very cool. Crested hadrosaurs are cool.

  6. 10 Brian Choo 31/12/2011 at 4:50 pm

    Skull of the the partially articulated wall mount at Tyrell (TMP 66.04.01)

  7. 14 Traumador the Tyrannosaur 01/01/2012 at 11:07 am

    While Brian is correct that it is the same skull on the Tyrrell’s wall mount, that whole mount is a cast however…

    As for it not being the type specimen, my bad (though I did note it was only my belief). Again I’m sure Darren can even tell you which Sternberg found it and on what day.


  1. 1 Corythosaurus « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 16/01/2012 at 8:41 am
  2. 2 More Lambeosaurus heads « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 30/04/2012 at 8:17 am
  3. 3 More Lambeosaurus heads « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 30/04/2012 at 8:17 am

Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 354 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 354 other followers

