PPC – better late than never

Well the end of the year is rolling around and it’s time to roll out the Palaeo Project Challenge. It’s a bit late this year as, well Andy and I forgot quite simply. We had it all planned and ready to go after Vegas and then, errr, nothing. Still, better late than never and there’s still a month to go, so we’d suggest only small projects this time around.

For those not familiar, the idea is for people to sign up to challenge themselves to get some palaeo-related work done. Everyone has a paper they never finished, a long overdue review hanging over them, a stack of ‘must read’ papers that have been there for 6 months, or some data to enter. Those little things that are always needing doing but never quite get high enough up the priority list. Well, put them to the top and declare them as such and get things going.

Simply leave a comment below in the thread and let us and the other readers know what it is you plan to do. Obviously there’s no real commitment here, just you wanting to get it done and a bit of peer pressure once you have announced it. So, trawl that hard-drive and sort through those piles of papers and think about what needs doing. This is open to all, not just academics, so you artists can get those pictures finished and interested people go to the museum you intend to or buy and read that book you’ve been eying up.

You have until the 1st of January, so get going!

 

Oh yes, and do please spread the word of this on your blogs etc.

12 Responses to “PPC – better late than never”


  1. 1 Heinrich Mallison 30/11/2011 at 10:17 am

    oh my, there STILL are the things I listed last year.

    • 2 David Hone 30/11/2011 at 12:08 pm

      Mike Taylor has promised us the Archbishop description for 2 years running….

      As for me, it’s an easy but important one. I have some corrections for an MS that have dragged on far too long and must be done and returned.

  2. 6 Eric Morschhauser 30/11/2011 at 10:14 pm

    I’ve got a paper with a long gestation period just about ready for submission. Half-a-week’s-work to get it in.

  3. 7 Robert A. Sloan 01/12/2011 at 1:36 am

    My paleo-project is the Dave Hone Paleo Art project. I would like to do one good accurate reconstruction painting of the subject and possibly also do some silly cartoons of it, since I started getting silly ideas as soon as I got the material. I want my real painting to make a good show in the final reveal. I think we’ll all be done in about six months so this is a perfect timeline for me.

    And then after the reveal, maybe blog about it on my art blog with a bit about what it was like doing paleo art with a real scientist’s guidance. That’s fascinated me all my life even if it’s not my specialty. As a kid I wanted to grow up to be Charles R. Knight, though the speed of new information is so vast that I’m not sure doing paleo-murals for history isn’t an open invitation to memorialize “Errors of the Era” no matter what it is!

  4. 8 Ashley Morhardt 15/12/2011 at 10:21 pm

    Gotta finish my SICB poster and work on my Stegosaurus MS. Ready, set, go! :)

  5. 9 JVélez-Juarbe 19/12/2011 at 4:23 pm

    I’ve got two MS, one describing sirenian remains from Argentina, the other describing a new dugongid taxon from the east coast of N Am…


  1. 1 Newsflash « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 07/12/2011 at 4:34 pm
  2. 2 Necks, I win; tails, Wedel loses –or– The SV-POW! Palaeo Paper Challenge « Sauropod Vertebra Picture of the Week Trackback on 14/12/2011 at 9:27 pm
  3. 3 PPC Update « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 15/12/2011 at 9:30 pm

Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 337 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

