Haplocheirus

I started writing this post before I checked my photos and was rather dismayed to see that pretty much everything I took at the Dino Expo was out of focus. Whoops. I do have my own photos from the IVPP, but obviously I wanted to stick to the exhibit on the Musings. Obviously in this case that rather means that I’m limited to one rather less than exciting image of the postcranium.

In an effort to make this post marginally more readable / interesting, it’s perhaps worth adding a few lines about the nature of the bones here, and indeed a number of things from the Shishugou Formation. While you do tend to get whole articulated skeletons from this area (and for that we really must be grateful) the bones are often rather bashed up and look like they’ve been broken in situ but preserved in the correct aspect and orientation. It makes for an unusual combination of complete articulated specimens which are not always very nice in terms of preservation. But they do at least keep coming.

 

5 Responses to “Haplocheirus”


  1. 1 Kilian Hekhuis 22/08/2011 at 9:51 am

    Too bad about the out-of-focus thing, but the obvious question that springs to mind is: “why didn’t you check when taking them”? (Assuming you have digital equipment…)

    • 2 David Hone 22/08/2011 at 10:03 am

      Becuase it doens’t affect me as such. I already have a stack of Haplocheirus photos taken at the IVPP and access to others. But sticking to my rule of not publishing such photos, I wanted a few for the blog alone. So I wasn’t as careful as i was with the others.

      And in any case I do find that images can look fine on the screen of the SLR and look far less fine when on the computer screen.

  2. 3 Kilian Hekhuis 22/08/2011 at 10:10 am

    True, but zooming in usually tells you whether it’s in focus or not (and, on the upside, scaling down an out-of-focus image to match the size of the on-camera display usually produces an image that’s good enough for web display). I’m not complaining though, so I will shut up now :).

    • 4 David Hone 22/08/2011 at 10:14 am

      Well it does help, but for fine focus details i find it’s generally not quite good enough. And doing that for every one of dozens of photos gets very tedious very quickly. I normally check batches of them on the laptop as I go and re-do any that are not up to speed. But here I didn;t have the time (in general) or the motivation (for Haplo. specifically).


  1. 1 Xinjiang 2011 fieldwork report « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 22/08/2011 at 8:08 am

Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

