Toys

Unlike some of my fellow bloggers, I’m not buried in dinosaur toys and models, though I do have a few cluttering up my desk and office. To be honest I don’t know many people who don’t have at least a few going around. I generally take a look at the selections going in a museum gift shop or the occasional toy store, especially when I’m abroad and might see something new or different.

When in Japan, this can rapidly become very time consuming. Models of various kinds are very popular there and dinosaurs are major sellers. Even small stores can have a huge range of things from the very small and cheap to massive skull replicas and high-quality 1/10th scale tyrannosaur life reconstructions. Here’s just one side of a display in a Tokyo toy store – it’s got more models of more kinds and different brands than anywhere I’d seen before and this wasn’t the only place with this kind of selection. I can think of a couple of people who might go broke if allowed more than 10 minutes in a few of these places.

5 Responses to “Toys”


  1. 1 Tim Donovan 13/08/2011 at 11:32 am

    I’ve accumulated a fairly substantial collection over the years. The T-rex and spinosaurus replicas at the local hobby shop aren’t as good as what I’ve had for some time.

  2. 2 Zhen 13/08/2011 at 5:14 pm

    So this is what heaven looks like.

  3. 3 Tim Donovan 14/08/2011 at 11:57 am

    Has anyone else seen the T. rex and Triceratops anatomical assembly kits? I was reluctant to buy the rex kit because of an error in the depiction of its posterior skull bones.

  4. 4 jmac27Jay 13/10/2012 at 4:44 am

    Wow, I haven’t seen a rack of dinosaur figures in a store like that since I was a kid. I wish there were stores like that near my hometown.


  1. 1 My very own Zhuchengtyrannus « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 14/09/2012 at 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 318 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 318 other followers

