A new addition to the Musings

Apparently now that I regularly get over 25 000 reader a month, WordPress has started blessing this blog with advertisments. It is, I suppose, something of a badge of honour that enough people are reading my work to make this viable and I can’t complain *too* much given that this platform is free. However, I have to pay for an upgrade to get the advert-free version and sorry guys, that ain’t happening anytime soon. So I (and you) will just have to stomach them for now. More archosaur-based posts coming soon, promise.

8 Responses to “A new addition to the Musings”


  1. 1 Nick Gardner 22/04/2011 at 6:39 pm

    Firefox users should grab Adblock Plus if they haven’t already. Takes care of those pesky ads easily. :)

  2. 2 Marc Vincent 22/04/2011 at 8:01 pm

    I rushed to the comments section to mention AdBlock Plus, and lo and behold, someone’s got there before me. Do get it, though – it’s very effective.

  3. 3 David Stern 23/04/2011 at 2:52 am

    I can’t see any ads.

    • 4 David Hone 23/04/2011 at 3:20 pm

      And nor can I, though I suspect this is becuase I’m logged in as the author. I couldn’t see them till I logged out to check after being tipped off.

  4. 5 Mark Robinson 23/04/2011 at 4:09 am

    Same with Chrome – Adblock works a treat, removes the placeholders and everything.

    And you can knock at least 30 off that figure as I check in most days!

    • 6 David Hone 23/04/2011 at 3:19 pm

      Well i think a lot of people do. Though I *suspect* I get rather fewer readers than many other blogs because I have a high number of regular readers and in general few comments. SO people come and read the article and then don’t come back. It’s very noticable that those posts with more comments tend to get more hits.

      • 7 Mark Robinson 28/04/2011 at 4:49 am

        I can’t speak for anyone else but if I leave a comment, I usually check back to see if there is further comment and, if I notice that a recent post has a few more comments than when I was last here, I have a look to see what the fuss is about.

        I think that if there is a bit of a conversation occurring, it’s natural to want to follow that and possibly join in. I agree with your suspicion that not having a particularly active comments section prob means that some people don’t return to the blog, let alone any particular post but if the content isn’t sufficient to hold their interest it’s prob for the better.

        Of course, the fact that you have professionals and knowledgeable non-professionals popping in and leaving comments (in addition to the interesting posts) makes for somewhat better reading than many other blogs.

  5. 8 Wally Wedel 23/04/2011 at 3:06 pm

    No ads on Safari in the USA either.


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 346 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers

