Pachycephalosaurus

I’ve been rather too busy the last few days unfortunately so blogging has had to take a back seat. In the meantime, here’s some photos of a Pachycephalosaurus skull (well, a really nice cast). I’ve long intended to write something interesting about this but never came up with much and, well, here’s the pretty pictures at least. For those who don’t know I suppose I should at least mention the derivation of this name which basically translates at the “thick headed reptile”. That huge dome of bone is basically solid and pachycephalosaurs carried round quite a weight of bone in that head of theirs. In fact for most taxa, this is all we know of them – the domes, perhaps unsurprisingly, survive rather well but the rest of the skeletons are rather rare.

6 Responses to “Pachycephalosaurus”


  1. 1 David Orr 29/03/2011 at 1:19 pm

    This is one of those taxa for which I’m always hoping for good new specimens. Especially considering the “year of ceratopsians,” the dome-heads seem sort of neglected lately.

    I’ve also got some good photos of a Pachy and Stygimoloch dome that Kraig Derstler brought to Indianapolis for CT scanning. I triedto get nice detail all the way around. I was impressed by the cross sections especially, and the surface integument is preserved as well.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/anatotitan/sets/72157625338367639/

  2. 3 Tom 30/03/2011 at 1:29 am

    Are those scales on the side of the skull actually found on the original fossil, or were they added by the sculpter?

    • 4 David Hone 30/03/2011 at 8:04 am

      Sorry but I really don’t know because I’ve not see the original. However, in my experience good sculpters don’t add things like this without very good reason and I have seen similar things on a number of pachycephalosaur skull models so I’d assume that at least one good skull has something similar on it.

  3. 5 Mark Robinson 30/03/2011 at 8:51 am

    Wow, rugosity personified. That is a beautiful specimen/cast. I was wondering something similar to Tom. I wasn’t aware that there was that much “roughness” along the base of the orbit.


  1. 1 Pachycephalosaur heads « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 10/12/2011 at 9:42 am

Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

