Eustreptospondylus returns

So yesterday I muttered about how I mysteriously had a new found interest in the British Middle Jurassic theropod Eustreptospondylus. And here is the reason for that, a Luis Rey original of that self-same taxon. When I last visited him he was kind enough to give me one of his old ‘sketches’ (he considered this little more than a draft I think) for a book he’d been working on. As I understand it, this never got redone or published so this is, sort of, a first. Obviously I’m delighted with it and it’s now part of my ever growing collection of wildlife and palaeoart.

10 Responses to “Eustreptospondylus returns”


  1. 1 Albertonykus 26/03/2011 at 1:07 pm

    I think this falls under interesting.

  2. 2 Traumador the Tyrannosaur 26/03/2011 at 3:27 pm

    Lucky guy is all I have to say.

    Very nice picture. Too bad it was never published.

  3. 3 Marc Vincent 26/03/2011 at 6:08 pm

    I’m really not sure about that purple…but apart from that, wonderful work from Luis Rey as usual.

  4. 5 mattvr 27/03/2011 at 9:12 am

    Of course you now need to up its value by knocking off the artist. ;-)

  5. 6 Andrzej Wolniewicz 27/03/2011 at 11:48 am

    The picture was published at least twice. It features in the book ‘A guide to Dinosaurs’, ed. M. K. Brett-Surman, Weldon Owen Publishing, 2002. I also remember this image from a block of stamps from some African country which was issued in the 2000s, but unfortunately I can’t recall the details of that issue.

    • 7 David Hone 27/03/2011 at 12:05 pm

      Wow, I obviously had no idea. If anyone has that book and a scan of the image I’d be most intrigued to see if this is the exact one, or if Luis went on to tweak or even repaint it at a later date. Thanks for that!

  6. 8 Andrzej Wolniewicz 27/03/2011 at 12:19 pm

    Scan on the way :)

  7. 10 Panzerraptor 01/04/2011 at 12:54 am

    Hey I remember that pic. That’s in The Nature Companions’ Rocks, Fossils, and Dinosaurs. He also did a pretty insane Leallynasaura in the book. Man Luis, your art is just so pimp!


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 341 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

