The Archosaur Musings 2010 Awards

This went down quite well last time, so here’s another go. I don’t have the time or originality to come up with a whole new list of categories and obviously this is horribly biased by my own work / experiences / opinions. Tough.

Most important new archosaur discovery

Tricky this, there’s no huge and standout candidate for me, so instead I’ll go for the more general massive increase in certopsian diversity that 2010 has wrought. How many taxa now? And more to come I know. A close second would be all the new Mesozoic crocs and then the extra tyrannosauroids in third.

Best newly discovered archosaur specimen

Self interest rules with Linheraptor. This is, however, a very very close second.

Best named new archosaur

I really rather like Balaur and Diabloceratops. I’m struggling to pick a winner though.

Worst named new archosaur

Lu Jungchang is a friend, collaborator and all round great guy. But he really needs to work on his pterosaur names. Not content with Chayaoangopterus and Fenghuangopterus, we now have to try not to mangle Zhenyuanopterusas well…..

The ‘Similicaudipteryx’ award for lest original archosaur name

Last year I wrote “I know Xu Xing doesn’t read this, so I’m probably quite safe plumping for Tianyuraptor. It’s a raptor from Tianyu. Great.”

Now replace Tianyuraptor with Linheraptor and Tinayu with Linhe. OK, I know this isn’t Xu’s fault as such, but really?

Most egregious media error on archosaurs

Proving tyrannosaurs DID scavenge does not prove they were not predators. See, well, pretty much everything ever in the media on this.

Best media report

Much as I whine about the generally terrible nature of the media when it comes to reporting on palaeontology, I continue to be impressed by those which stand out for their quality. Given their often rotten reputation, (at least with me) I was delighted by the work of Matt Walker on the BBC website, and especially this.

SVP long time no see award

Goes to Luis Rey. Last year I finally got down to sit with Luis and really talk archosaurs for the first time in far too long, and it also sparked the first of the palaeoart interviews which was great.

The ‘about time’ award for slow publication

Ceratopsian volumes anyone?

Ridiculous prediction for 2011

Discovery of a truly flighted non-avian. Like a troodontid with huge assymetric feathers, a notarium, the works. It could happen. Could.

6 Responses to “The Archosaur Musings 2010 Awards”


  1. 1 David Orr 30/12/2010 at 1:25 pm

    You should call these “The Archies!” I’ll draw up an award medal for 2011.

  2. 2 David Orr 30/12/2010 at 1:26 pm

    Also, when a paleontologist makes a “ridiculous prediction,” it always makes me think they’re saying it with a bit of a wink as they work on the academic paper… So, can’t wait to see your flying non-avian!

  3. 4 Mad Ness Monster 02/01/2011 at 2:04 am

    “Most egregious media error on archosaurs: Proving tyrannosaurs DID scavenge does not prove they were not predators. See, well, pretty much everything ever in the media on this.”

    I take it you have the Triceratops/Torosaurus debacle nicely repressed then?

    • 5 David Hone 02/01/2011 at 9:07 am

      Actually I’d forgotten about that one. Good point. Though to be fair, to get that right the newsies would need a bit of knowledge about the protocols and working of taxonomy, to get this right they just had to not be idiots…


  1. 1 Tweets that mention The Archosaur Musings 2010 Awards -- Topsy.com Trackback on 31/12/2010 at 2:43 am
Comments are currently closed.



@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other subscribers