Archaeopteryx

I have only a few of my childhood dinosaur and biology books still in my possession and those are sitting in a box somewhere in my parents’ house. However, I remember this model Archaeopteryx from Oxford gracing at least one of them. While I do like life reconstructions in museums, it seems almost everyone has an Archaeopteryx – I’ve certainly seen quite a few of them, I assume since they are relatively small and certainly famous it’s a suitable subject (few places can’t afford to do one or find space for it, when few can consider making a life size Stegosaurus or Brachiosaurus to be practical). Still this one is likely more famous than many and I was pleased to be able to reminisce on seeing it. I suspect a few others will remember it.

3 Responses to “Archaeopteryx”


  1. 1 mattvr 22/10/2010 at 1:37 am

    Never seen this one before Dave, thanks for posting it.
    Seems a really good blend between reptilian and bird.

  2. 2 Brian 26/10/2010 at 4:15 pm

    I think I saw this one in a German book on dinosaurs, though I can’t remember anything about the title beyond ‘Dinosaurier’. That isn’t to helpful of course. Like your old books, it’s at my parents’ place at the moment.
    Back then, the coloration struck me as very magpie-like.


  1. 1 Compsognathus « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 09/11/2010 at 9:49 am

Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

