An image request

A while back I launched a rather unsuccessful appeal for archosaur images to use on the Musings since I actually don’t have that many that I have not already used. These are of course still welcome, so if you have any photos that you own the copyright for, and don’t mind me using publicly, and if they are of archosaur fossils / casts / mounts then do please send them to me!

However this appeal is of a far more general kind. As I noted recently my main ‘online’ project Ask A Biologist is about to undergo a big makeover and we are also looking for any images related to biology to include in a big online gallery. So basically the same appeal applies but on a much bigger scale – please send me ANY images related to biology / palaeo that we can use. I should note that I do have a rather a lot of dinosaur, bird and mammal images already and we need some variety! Thus lings like people in labs, plants, cells, inverts, molecules, fungi, medicine related stuff, fish, non-dinosaur fossils etc. are especially welcome.

Send anything you have to me at dwe_hone AT yahoo.com
Thanks in advance for your help, it really is greatly appreciated.

Share this Post

12 Responses to “An image request”


  1. 1 ReBecca 20/11/2009 at 2:04 pm

    Hi Dave. You are always welcome to use any images from my website. I have most of my paleo ones complied here (http://www.dinochick.com/Paleo/paleopics.html) and if you ever need a high resolution version just let me know. Just give credit to me ;)

  2. 2 David Hone 20/11/2009 at 2:23 pm

    That’s a great start ReBecca, thanks.

  3. 3 Traumador the Tyrannosaur 20/11/2009 at 6:32 pm

    Any need for palaeo-art?

    I’m sure any and all our artists on ART Evolved, http://www.blogevolved.blogspot.com would be keen for their stuff to be used on the site.

  4. 4 Traumador the Tyrannosaur 20/11/2009 at 6:37 pm

    Sorry, that offer also extends to you and your own posts too Dave. Being the online community of Palaeo-artists, ART Evolved members would be more then happy with the exposure they could get from your popular and well thought of site. Even if it is you simply dissecting our work, as feedback from an expert is the best way we can get better…

    • 5 David Hone 20/11/2009 at 8:13 pm

      Sadly I don’t think we have much use for palaeoart on AAB since, while I appreciate palaeoart IS an important part of science communications, we want to emphasise science as a practice and I don’t use much palaeoart on here apart from odd posts on specific works. However!, I shall browse the archives and see what i can turn up that might be of use for me or AAB, and thanks for the offer. I should add actually that AAB has handled a fair number of questions from various palaeoartists and even a games group about reconstructing dinosaurs – this being a good example: http://www.askabiologist.org.uk/punbb/viewtopic.php?id=1247

  5. 6 davidmaas 20/11/2009 at 8:20 pm

    From me, too… (also from ArtEvolved). I do requests! And would like to explore ways that art or at least visualization can serve a more supportive role in science.
    Currently working on early salamanders. Would love feedback and even more so guidance.

    • 7 David Hone 20/11/2009 at 9:07 pm

      Well you can get a ton of feedback from places like the DML (not sure you’d necessarily *want* it though). I’m sure a few readers here are willing and able to help.

  6. 8 Traumador the Tyrannosaur 21/11/2009 at 10:16 am

    me AGAIN,

    it just occurred to me… you can feel free to use any of the hundreds of fossil photos, or shots of other things, I’ve got on my flickr site.

    i hadn’t sent you any pics, as i have TOO many to choose from. however with these links i’ll leave it up to you to choose which you’d like or need!

    from the Royal Tyrrell Museum CA…

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/traumador/sets/72157621982688702/

    Sydney Museum AU

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/traumador/sets/72157617413922990/

    Melbourne Museum AU

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/traumador/sets/72157612125007033/

    Canterbury Museum NZ

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/traumador/sets/72157612120968266/

    Otago Museum NZ

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/traumador/sets/72157612139268556/

    hope there is something in these 500ish pics that you might find useful. (though we will need to get in contact on flickr, so i can add you to my download permissions… i was having problems with a creationist site stealing my palaeo art!)

    • 9 David Hone 21/11/2009 at 10:49 am

      OK can do, thanks! I should add that I’ve also had some e-mails with access to other people’s collections which is great. Thanks everyone and do keep them coming.

  7. 10 davidmaas 22/11/2009 at 6:48 pm

    Now I’ll have to go through my own photos… new to this, so I won’t have as much as Craig, for example…. but I photographed more or less all of the exhibits at the Museums in Zurich and here in Stuttgart.
    Will send a mail when I’ve sorted them for archosaurs.

  8. 12 mattvr 23/11/2009 at 7:06 am

    I’ve just posted a Muttaburrasaurus image over on my blog you’re welcome to. I can supply a higher res version if required.


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 341 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

