More birds

Recently I have been very busy as the fallout from SVP and a two week break come back to haunt me. I’ve got a paper to review, have submitted the corrections on one of my own, have reviewed two pieces of work by my students, completed my comments on the description of the new theropod to come out of the IVPP ( a secret for now, sorry), sent off a specimen  for preparation, done four drawings for another paper and generally tried to to catch up with my e-mails. As a result, the Musings has been a bit sparse on the detailed posts front and it might continue a bit longer since my next big task is to write some job applications. In order to keep you all interested though, have a couple of vaguely related things.

First off, this photo of a bird of paradise I took in the Ueno Zoo in Tokyo. I’m really rather pleased to have seen it and very pleased with how the photo came out given the poor lighting, reflectance off the glass and other factors that made this a challenge.

BoP

This in turn leads into a couple of other things. First off, today saw the release of some of the photos from the Wildlife Photographer of the Year Award, which is a must for me and I rarely miss it, despite having been based in Germany and China for the last four years. It does tour both the UK and the world (the 2008 version is now on display in the Beijing Zoo) so keep an eye out. Secondly, the bird at hand – the Greater Bird of Paradise (Paradisaea apoda) formed a central part in the lecture on Alfred Wallace that was recently given by Sir David Attenborough which i was lucky enough to attend and got to ask the man himself about the very bird you see pictured here.

Share this Post

2 Responses to “More birds”


  1. 1 Tor Bertin 22/10/2009 at 12:26 pm

    Those photos are incredible! Makes me wish my camera was actually working all the more…


  1. 1 Ueno zoo, Tokyo « Dave Hone's Archosaur Musings Trackback on 19/12/2010 at 7:49 am

Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

