Back to blogging

P1000833So I have finally made it back from the 69th SVP and 57th SVPCA meeting in lovely Bristol. This has allowed me to catch up with many old friends and colleagues (both in science and outside) and meet those I have long ‘known’ online but never met like Tom Holtz and Larry Witmer as well as finally meeting people like Jack Horner and Dave Norman. Along the way I took in probably 50 talks, at least as many posters, spoke to dozens of researchers, sorted through masses of new ideas and projects and got old tasks back on track. I will of course be getting back to Anchiornis shortly and of course have more SVP-y things to come, but in the meantime have a few photos from the conference:#

P1000823

Foremost among these is the chance coming together of a great many dinosaur bloggers in a pub and thus here you can see in all their glory (L-R) – Adam Yates, Jeff Martz, Julia Heathcoate, me, Darren Naish, Mike Taylor, Matt Wedel, Andy Farke and Bill Parker. Wow!

Andy and I have managed to recruit a bunch more people for the Palaeo Paper Challenge and he was smart enough to write down those drunkenly slurred promises so people can’t weasel out of them. Expect updates soon.

Darren and I as ever lost no time in heading to the nearest zoo once the meeting was over and a review will come but in the meantime, enjoy this spread of other palaeo people who made it too (L-R): Mark Witton, Richard Hing, Bob Nicholls, Darren, Mike Taylor, Roger Close and me again.

P1000998I’ve had a great but long and tiring time so stay tuned and expect a flurry of posts when I have time to organise, collate, collect and arrange everything – I’m technically on holiday this week and next. Yipe! So I will leave you to wallow in my smugness as I leave you with a photo of me meeting Sir David Attenborough.

P1000846

10 Responses to “Back to blogging”


  1. 1 Dave Unwin 01/10/2009 at 3:24 am

    Let me guess. Is Saint Dave of Natural History Programmes saying “Is it a girl or a boy?”

    • 2 David Hone 01/10/2009 at 4:05 am

      That’s a bit rich coming from you Dave. You have had your girl already yet I didn’t see much change… And I’m going to blame it on the long office hours and tight T-shirt. And anything else i can think of.

  2. 3 Nathan Myers 01/10/2009 at 4:07 am

    Who’s the nameless redshirt, and how long was it before he died horribly, alerting others by his death to the imminent danger they faced?

  3. 4 Manabu Sakamoto 01/10/2009 at 4:50 am

    ah – I guess the “red shirt” would be Roger Close though I don’t get the death joke…

    Dave, shame on you for missing him…

  4. 6 Tor Bertin 01/10/2009 at 5:28 am

    Star Trek I believe.

  5. 7 Nathan Myers 01/10/2009 at 6:07 am

    Redshirts: http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/RedShirt

    Any pics of the legendary David Marjanović?

  6. 8 Manabu Sakamoto 01/10/2009 at 3:39 pm

    D’oh! Of course…

  7. 9 Jeffrey Martz 04/10/2009 at 1:03 am

    Sir David certainly looks…awestruck.


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

