Flamingo in repose

IMGP3883Another quick picture post before we dive into taxonomy next week. I shot this flamingo in the zoo in Seoul just on Friday and rather like the resting posture seen here on the massively elongate metatarsals (though these are mostly in the air thanks to the solid ground and the bulbous ankles). You often see ratites in this kind of posture but I’ve not seen too many other birds adopt this position and it’s neat to see it in a bird with such exaggerated legs. It is also something you occasionally see in theropod tracks such as the resting trace I covered a few months back.

Share this Post

9 Responses to “Flamingo in repose”


  1. 1 Taissa 02/09/2009 at 6:18 am

    Fantastic picture Dave!

    • 2 David Hone 02/09/2009 at 9:44 am

      Thanks. I’m rather pleased with it too. More to come from that zoo trip at some point, I got some very nice shots. I must finish off the taxonomy series first too!

  2. 3 Heinrich Mallison 04/09/2009 at 4:08 pm

    Dave, I have a video of a secretary bird sitting down like that, getting back up, sitting back down…… want it?

    • 4 David Hone 04/09/2009 at 5:35 pm

      Hi there, long time no see. How are things?

      Do I want it? Yes please Heinrich!

      • 5 Heinrich Mallison 04/09/2009 at 5:42 pm

        OK, I will have that 8GB video cut up into manageable sections soon anyway, and will include that segment. :)

        and yes, long time no see, but that’s what you get for abandoning FOR 533 ;)

      • 6 David Hone 04/09/2009 at 8:00 pm

        That would be great, thanks! And I ahrdly abandonned the group, more I didn’t get the fundaing to say and Xu offered me a job. With theropods. And fieldwork. Hard to say no at that point!

      • 7 Heinrich Mallison 04/09/2009 at 8:38 pm

        yeah – it was just my envy talking ;)

    • 8 Heinrich Mallison 16/09/2009 at 6:53 pm

      Dave, I will bring the entire 2GB video to SVP. I am sorry, but I can’t have that video cut up into sections soon, because my old software outlived its license, and the new one is all Greek to me.

      So please bring enough disc space. Rest of the vid is mainly a galloping baby rhino, so you should like it, too.


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 318 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 318 other followers

