Sinraptor

Sinraptor is one of those dinosaurs which is very well known in professional circles, but largely unknown outside of it. While this might sound pretty obvious (how many of the general public can name more than Tyrannosaurus-Triceratops-Stegosaurus-Diplodocus?) the point is that Sinraptor *should* be a bit better known. This is because it is a near complete specimen (apart from the arms and bits of the tail and a few ribs it’s pretty much all there) in excellent condition and has been described in great detail relatively recently. That makes it an excellent source of information for anyone wanting to describe theropods or analyse them and this is a service it regularly provides.

sinraptor

I’m going into any more details here at this time, I really just wanted to put up this nice photo of the mount that was made of the skeleton and is on display at the IVPP (inside I should point out, this was when it was wheeled out for Oliver Rauhut and I to have a look at it). The mount is, in theory, great – really dynamic, dramatic and nicely showing off the idea of a skeleton being discovered entombed in rock. In practice however, it’s a bit of a nightmare to say the least with bones actively trapped in the damned fake rock so you can’t see them properly, something that is surprisingly common.

7 Responses to “Sinraptor”


  1. 1 Zach Miller 27/03/2009 at 10:03 am

    Happen to have that description in PDF form, Dave? Sinraptor is my favorite allosaur, just because Allosaurus gets way too much press.

  2. 2 David Hone 27/03/2009 at 11:15 am

    Sorry, only got a hard copy of the paper.

  3. 3 Manabu Sakamoto 27/03/2009 at 11:24 pm

    I do…as always.

    Anyway, during my first year of PhD, I got some TST funding to go to the IVPP to make some detailed observations of jaw muscle attachments on Sinraptor and Monolophosaurus and after something like £900, a 12 hour flight, and an hour out on the IVPP’s Jeep, I found to my great disappointment that I cannot see any of the adductor attachment sites, none. All covered up in that stupid foam…

    I really was dumbfounded…what the hell was I supposed to do for the next 8 days???

    I didn’t waste my time though, and did whatever I could.

  4. 4 David Hone 28/03/2009 at 3:01 pm

    Yeah, I got better views of Monolophosaurus and Sinraptor in Fukui than at the IVPP (though these were not great casts and both were mounted). I think I have stirred things up enough to get them to agree to dismount them at soem point, but no idea when tha is likely to happen.

  5. 5 manabu sakamoto 30/03/2009 at 3:59 am

    you mean the holotypes?


  1. 1 Monolophosaurus and Sinraptor « Dave Hone’s Archosaur Musings Trackback on 21/12/2009 at 8:43 am

Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

