AABQOTW

Since everyone else on the web seems to have some kind of weekly feature I thought it was time I joined in. I don’t have a huge archive of publishable photos, so I’m going to need something that I can easily purloin or link to with minimal effort that will make a quick post. Of course given the other palaeo / bio websites I’m involved in it seemed obvious to steal from my own creations (if such a thing is possible) and so I bring you the Ask A Biologist Question Of The Week or the incredibly catchy acronym of AABQOTW (the SV-POW boys have nothing on me).

So each week I’ll trawl through the AAB archives (and if you don’t know what that is by now, shame on you!) and pull out one of the more interesting questions and reproduce the text here. It *is* a cheap and easy post for me, but hopefully it will bring a new audience to AAB and let me explore some arrears of biology wither beyond the archosaurs, or to areas that are directly relevant that I rarely get the opportunity to crowbar into my posts (like mate choice, or feeding behaviour).

banner-askabiologist-400-802

Hopefully this will be the first of many, and of course you should feel free to browse the 1300 questions (and over 4000 answers!) available over at AAB or even leave a question yourself (since that’s kinda the point).

This week I have picked the (apparently) endless question of Tyrannosaurus:predator or scavenger. It is not the most fascinating of questions in my opinion, but these kinds of issues can drive huge amounts of research as people come up with more and more ingenious ways of looking at the fossil record (and living animals) to try and answer the question, and for this reason at least it is still a major subject in palaeotology.

3 Responses to “AABQOTW”


  1. 1 Thomas R. Holtz, Jr. 24/11/2008 at 1:21 am

    In response to the question, I suggest that folks peruse the following:

    Holtz, T.R., Jr. 2008. A critical re-appraisal of the obligate scavenging hypothesis for Tyrannosaurus rex and other tyrant dinosaurs. Pp. 370-396, in P. Larson and K. Carpenter (eds.), Tyrannosaurus rex: The Tyrant King. Indiana University Press.

    Or, for the kiddies:

  2. 2 David Hone 24/11/2008 at 9:13 am

    Come on Tom, I’ve tried to sell your book a few times on here already, you dson’t need to be that obvious! ;-) It *is* a great book though…

  3. 3 Mike Taylor 25/11/2008 at 7:01 pm

    So, Tom, show us yer PDF!


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 341 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

