Pterosaur skulls

I had intended to put this picture up as part of the pterosaur head crests post last week, but I could not find a decent place to slip it in, so it went unpublished. I’m rather pleased with it though so it seemed a shame to waste. It’s for an as yet unpublished (well, unsubmitted actually) paper I am working on, but hell, it’s a bunch of pterosaur crania so it should be of interest.

The originals are cribbed from various sources (primarily Dave Unwin’s pterosaur book) and then all lovingly redrawn and revised by me. Irritatingly there are a couple of errors, that I will probably tidy up at some point (the rear bar is too short on Nyctosaurs, and the orbit shape is a bit funny and I really should include a lowed jaw for Tupuxuara, even if it would be speculative). The orbits have been put in bold to make them a bit more obvious, and I should point out that there is no scale on any of this, they were drawn to different scales pretty much just so as they would fit on the page nicely.

A bunch of pterosur heads

A bunch of pterosur heads

For the non-pterosaur experts among you, they are as follows: A. Thalassodromeus, B. Tapejara, C. Tupuxuara, D. Ornithocheirus (or Tropegnathus if you prefer), E. Dsungaripterus, F. Pteranodon, G. Nyctosaurs. That’s enough for now, you’ll have to wait until the paper come’s out for more, and don’t bother setting your alarm for that one, a calendar might be more use…

4 Responses to “Pterosaur skulls”


  1. 1 Christopher 29/07/2008 at 1:42 am

    Does that particular Tupuxuara specimen have a specimen number? I’ve seen it illustrated in a number of places and the AMNH has a cast hanging in their galleries. And yourself used it (a cast?) in the Flugsaurier displays you had on the meetings blogsite. But its not one of the two Japanese specimens I’m familiar with.

    Also, both of the Japanese specimens do have lower jaws so it wouldn’t be that speculative to add one.

  2. 2 David Hone 29/07/2008 at 7:52 pm

    I’ve never seen a ‘real’ one Chris so I can’t tell you. The cast in Munich is certainly a cast of a real specimen (with various restored bits) but I don’t know which one I’m afraid – based on the fact that it isn’t one of the Japanese specimens, it’s almost certainly held in Brazil.

    I’ll ask my collagues in Munich to see if I can find out if it has a referral to the original specimen with the cast. Meantime, good to know lower jaws are known (I’d don’t think I actually have any of the literature for this taxon) and certainly the Munich cast had no lower jaw with it.

  3. 3 Christopher 30/07/2008 at 4:32 am

    So the real specimen isnt in Germany either, hmm.

    To be fair there isnt any literature on a complete skull that may, or maynot as per Martill & Naish 2006 and Martill et al 2007, be referable to Tupuxura. Only brief mentions of the Japanese specimens here and there. Andre Vledmeijer included two nice photos of both of the Japanese specimens KPMNH DL84 and IMCF 1052 in his PhD thesis. This cast does bare some resemblance to KPMNH DL84 but there appear to be a number of differences so I dont think they are the the same specimen.

  4. 4 pradeep suranga 30/08/2009 at 12:30 pm

    i interest that pleas send me some picchers.


Leave a Reply

@Dave_Hone on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 354 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 354 other followers

